Hello Friends:  Alan here! As you may know we had a little disappointment with yesterday’s visit to Dr. Kuo.  To be clear, anything other than, “Hey Alan, did you know that your tumors are disappearing???” is a little bit of a disappointment.  Our visit with Dr. Kuo really was just established that we don’t have additional shrinkage on the tumors.  To that, Dr. Kuo has prepared a note looking to engage Dr. Goldberg at UNC more actively in some more “aggressive” therapies.  To that, we’re officially on the “we’ll see” category.

So many of you are following my progress and disappointment from yesterday.  The context of my disappointment really speaks to the limits of my faith.  “Save me Lord…but hurry up and do it while I know that you can pull me back.”  Pretty weak, huh?  Friends of ours called late last night and coached us to “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently upon Him.”   Patient is hard for us all…all the time.  God blessed us with a good report on December 7 and we start looking for a precise agenda.

So many of you have reached out to us to remind us of a couple things.  Inclusive are:  the fact that God loves us, that so many of you all love us, that so many of you are praying for us and that God has many ways in which He answers prayers with so few of them being understandable to man.

Over the last few days I’ve struggled with significant liver pain, new drugs, new levels of Elvis  (mid 1970s) impersonation and now this disappointment.  I’ve got to work on being still.  Knowing that I am to wait upon the Lord…not vice versa.

We leave for UNC early tomorrow morning.  I’m praying that Dr. Goldberg has a perspective that lightens our path and invigorates our enthusiasm.  He may, or may not do that.  ALL that isn’t Dr. Goldberg’s job.  But he can be empowered to do so.  Please pray for us to have peace in God’s perfect providence.

One of my new best buddies wrote this and gave it to me a few months ago.  I look to it now and share it with you all:

Proclamation Of Faith

Alan’s body is a temple for the Holy Spirit, redeemed, cleansed and sanctified by the blood of Jesus. Alan’s members and parts of his body are instruments of His righteousness. Yielded to God’s service and His glory. The devil has no place in Alan, no power over Alan and no unsettled claims against him. All have been settled by the blood of Jesus, Alan overcame Satan by the word of his testimony. Alan loves not his life unto the death. Alan’s body is for the Lord and the Lord is for his body. Amen.

My friend, Randolph really described our biggest gift with these Spirit-tuned words.  Randolph would be very happy for any of you to use this proclamation as you wait upon the Lord.

Another point: My friend Jerry’s show on Discovery Health airs again on February 19th. @ 8:00 pm. & 11:00 pm.  For DirecTV folks that means channel 279. The name of the program is “I Was Dead”.  Jerry’s story airs last.  He’s the “good old boy” from Georgia.  I’ve gotten to know Jerry as a friend and a big brother in Christ over the last several weeks.  I encourage you to get your friends to watch his story.  It definitely has life-changing potential.  He puts his feet down on the floor every morning knowing that God has work for him to do.  I fully believe that God is using Jerry’s prolonged life and his visit to heaven to encourage us here.

OK.  Off to UNC in the morning.  Will report to y’all tomorrow.  Trying to “still” myself.  Set your Tivo’s for Jerry’s show and don’t take any wooden nickels.  There, that about covers things except for, God is good, thanks for your prayers, and LOVE,

Alan

